Review~ The Deepest Night by Shana Abe

» 6 August, 2013 » Reviews » 4 comments

Review~ The Deepest Night by Shana AbeThe Deepest Night
by Shana Abe
Series: The Sweetest Dark #2
Published by Bantam
Release date : August 13th 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Historical, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: The Publisher | Format: ARC
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link)
Add to: Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Nightseamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

Also by this author: The Sweetest Dark
Also in this series: The Sweetest Dark

Review

I read The Sweetest Dark (review here) months ago so I was hoping that I wouldn’t forget anything crucial to the story, since I didn’t re read before diving in. I pride myself my memory, but still. Anyway, The Deepest Night is everything I was hoping it would be. Everything that I felt was lacking before (and LOVED), was here ten fold. Dragons. Shifting. Action. Armand. And less Jesse. This is just as unique, beautiful and fascinating as The Sweetest Dark but by far surpasses its greatness.

After that heartbreaking ending that ended The Sweetest Dark (yes, I remember THAT) Lora is still at Iverson School for girls. Discovering more about her abilities, still healing from her wounds and her broken heart. After the request from the insane Duke, Lora discovers that Jesse has been “speaking” to him and has made it apparent that Lora must travel far over enemy lines to save another. With the help from Armand, the two set out on an intense, heart-felt journey to rescue one of their own.

I loved the writing in both books; but here, I was more draw in and wowed. It’s face paced, descriptive in the right parts and with such beautiful and graceful prose. I loved the lore of the dragons. I still don’t fully understand where they came from and how they are connected to the stars but I love it anyway. I liked the small breaks form her POV. Every few chapters we get Armand and once or twice we get Jesse as well. And let me just say, there are some gruesome scenes. I had to set my kindle down at least twice and shudder.

I really like Lora. She is tough, witty, brave and so loving. Her life was rough and she is plagued with awful memories from her childhood. I feel like she has grown a lot too, coming into her abilities. She is dedicated and strong; doing what need to be done on their “rescue mission” even though at times, it was bleak. She is treated like crap, by almost everyone but Armand, and it’s awe-inspiring that she juts her chin up and moves on. She proves over and over again that she would stop at nothing to save those she loves. One in particular with her life.

Watching Lora slowly open up to Armand and seeing their relationship grow was so sweet and beautiful. I was never a fan of Jesse and I felt their relationship was too wishy-washy. With Armand, its slow and sweet. I had butterflies with these two and my heart soared at the end. If you know me at all, this is BIG.

Armand has done some growing as well. As he slowly gets into this powers and grows closer to Lora, we see him for who he really is. He’s sweet, funny and nothing at all like his father. There was this one scene when he was talking to Chloe (the wench) and what he said about Lora pretty much broke my heart. In a good way.

I am hoping that there is another book. I want to see what happens with Lora and Armand. With Aubrey. And I want to know if/when the Stars will collect on their deal with Lora.

Overall~ Loved, loved LOVED. Beautiful writing, sweet love story and DRAGONS. I mean, really. Do I need to say more?

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow Me

tonyalee

Tonyalee is an avid reader, coffee junkie, junk food addicted workaholic and blogger. Be sure to follow on Twitter for random shenanigans.
Follow Me

4 responses to “Review~ The Deepest Night by Shana Abe

  1. Jessica@Lovin' Los Libros

    Oh yes. I loved that scene where he was talking to Chloe about Lora. I felt my heart break too. You did an awesome job with your review! (I felt bad- I wrote mine so long ago that I realized: wow, this sucks. LOL) I’m excited for the next book, but I’m really nervous too. Especially after the revelations towards the end.
    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros recently posted…Cover Reveal: Be My Downfall by Lyla PayneMy Profile

    • tonyaleeh

      I was always a fan or Armand and after that scene… *sigh*

      No, your review was good! 🙂 Don’t feel bad! I hope there is another one.. But like I said with the first one, it was open enough to either go with another or leave it.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge