Mini Reviews: Silver in the Blood, Undertow and Frostborn | June 2015

» 30 June, 2015 » Reviews » 12 comments

Mini Reviews: Silver in the Blood, Undertow and Frostborn | June 2015Silver in the Blood
by Jessica Day George
Series: Silver in the Blood #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release date : July 7th, 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link)
Add to: Goodreads
 Stars

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

I received this book for free from Library, The Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

My Thoughts –

I was beyond excited when I saw this book hitting the blogosphere; even more so when I was invited to review. It’s been a good, long while since I have read a YA about shifters and the setting and historical aspect added to my excitement.

But it PAINS me say I just couldn’t get into this one and ended up DNF at 21%.

I have a like/dislike with the writing. I loved the details and different characterizations of both Lou and Dacia – but I honestly feel like I should have known more about the plot, characters etc at the percentage I was at. I also was not a fan of the telegrams and journal entries before each POV of the character. Which is odd for me, because I usually love his. Quite frankly – I was bored.

I’ve been told that everything picks up in the second half – and the retelling aspect and the secrets would appeal to me. But.. I just can’t get to that point.

🙁

Divider
Mini Reviews: Silver in the Blood, Undertow and Frostborn | June 2015Undertow
by Michael Buckley
Series: Undertow #1
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for Young Readers
Release date : May 5th, 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Format: eARC
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link)
Add to: Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sixteen-year-old Lyric Walker’s life is forever changed when she witnesses the arrival of 30,000 Alpha, a five-nation race of ocean-dwelling warriors, on her beach in Coney Island. The world’s initial wonder and awe over the Alpha quickly turns ugly and paranoid and violent, and Lyric’s small town transforms into a military zone with humans on one side and Alpha on the other. When Lyric is recruited to help the crown prince, a boy named Fathom, assimilate, she begins to fall for him. But their love is a dangerous one, and there are forces on both sides working to keep them apart. Only, what if the Alpha are not actually the enemy? What if they are in fact humanity’s only hope of survival? Because the real enemy is coming. And it’s more terrifying than anything the world has ever seen.

Action, suspense, and romance whirlpool dangerously in this cinematic saga, a blend of District 9 and The Outsiders

I received this book for free from Library, The Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

 

My Thoughts

Undertow was one of my most anticipated Spring releases this year – I mean hello, sea creatures coming on land and just camping out in Cooney Island? H-YES! After reviews were popping up and a lot of MEHS were going around, I got really, really nervous. But I pushed out the MEH and drove right in.

And I REALLY liked it!

My favorite parts? Well, I loved how descriptive and gruesome the Alpha’s were. It was like all of Davy Jones’ crew jumped ship and came ashore! I also loved how one of the major key points in the plot was brought to our attention EARLY and not dragged out throughout the whole book. I have seen his done so many times, it was refreshing to know (even though I would have figured it out) early on. I also love close-knit family. Maybe I am getting sappy in my old age.

The romance aspect was kind of.. eh. I liked both Lyric and Fathom; together and individually, but I did wish it wasn’t so romance heavy towards the end. That is my only issue with the book, though!

Action packed, often hilarious and gruesome and I loved it! I cannot WAIT to read The Raging Sea.

Divider

Mini Reviews: Silver in the Blood, Undertow and Frostborn | June 2015Frostborn
by Lou Anders
Series: Thrones and Bones #1
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers
Release date : August 5th, 2014
Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link)
Add to: Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne Star

Meet Karn. He is destined to take over the family farm in Norrøngard. His only problem? He’d rather be playing the board game Thrones and Bones.

Enter Thianna. Half human, half frost giantess. She’s too tall to blend in with other humans but too short to be taken seriously as a giant.

When family intrigues force Karn and Thianna to flee into the wilderness, they have to keep their sense of humor and their wits about them. But survival can be challenging when you’re being chased by a 1,500-year-old dragon, Helltoppr the undead warrior and his undead minions, an evil uncle, wyverns, and an assortment of trolls and giants.

 

My Thoughts

After I accepted the second book in the Thrones and Bone series, Nightborn, I immediately went to he library to buddy read it with my oldest. Ironic enough, Frostborn was a book I have previous checked out for him that he never got around to reading.

I am not a huge middle grade reader – but it’s one category that I have been wanting to get into for a while now. Fantasy probably wasn’t the best of genres to start with though, to be honest.

Frostborn had a really slow start. The story didn’t really progress until about 40%, with the introduction to the characters and world building. This is not necessarily a bad thing – but it took a lot of patience on my part to get past this.

We have an array of characters; the main two being Karn, a boy next to take over his family farm and Thianna, a half-human/half-giant. Once these two are introduced, the story really picks up its pace and doesn’t let up from there. These two make a great team – with Thianna’s stubborn and tough personality and Karn’s wit. Their adventures were quite entertaining and love how everything pieced together in the end.

Overall – Frostborn was a great start to a series. Minor pacing issues aside in the beginning, it’s entertaining with an interesting world with Norse history and lore, fans of fantasy books will get a kick out of this one!

Tell me Your Thoughts
  • Have you read either of these books? If so, what did you think?

Follow Me

tonyalee

Tonyalee is an avid reader, coffee junkie, junk food addicted workaholic and blogger. Be sure to follow on Twitter for random shenanigans.
Follow Me

12 responses to “Mini Reviews: Silver in the Blood, Undertow and Frostborn | June 2015

  1. Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    I can understand why you DNF’d Silver in the Blood. I get so frustrated when a story is slow moving, and I am bored by it. Undertow is sounds pretty good! Especially, how descriptive the Alpha’s were. I love your comparison of them to Davy Jones’ Crew. Too bad the romance was Meh, but at least you enjoyed this one overall. Thrones and Bones sounds like it was eventually entertaining, despite the slow beginning. I enjoy stories based on mythology, and love Norse mythology. Although, I am not really in to middle grade reads either, this sounds like it was a pleasant one. Great Mini Reviews Tonya 🙂
    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape recently posted…Book Review: The History of Us by Nyrae DawnMy Profile

    • tonyalee

      This is one of those things where I am picky. I can read slow books if they are interesting enough, but SIlver in the Blood just wasn’t. I hope to revisit it one day!

      LOL when reading Undertow, that was my first thought and it just fit,.

  2. Haraiah

    Oh, that’s too bad about Silver in the Blood. I was really looking forward to reading it! But I still may check it out, just not anytime soon. Undertow sounds really good! I’m glad you liked it. I’m definitely adding it to my TBR 🙂
    Haraiah recently posted…2015 Most Anticipated Books Part 2My Profile

    • tonyalee

      I would still check it out! A lot of people really loved it, but I couldn’t get past the pacing issues.

      If you read Undertow, let me know what you think!

  3. Suzi Q, The Book Dame

    Oh no! What to do about Silver in the Blood… I was planning to join in a read-a-thon that starts on the tenth, but I keep finding less than lukewarm reviews, and here you are leaving it unfinished! I don’t think it’s for me, and with so many books on my TBR, I am not feeling it.
    I almost bought Undertow when I was at the bookstore last. I think that I will have to give it a try.
    Suzi Q, The Book Dame recently posted…Let’s Talk Novellas: The Assassins’s Blade by Sarah J. MaasMy Profile

    • tonyalee

      Aw, give it a try you might like it! I do know that other friends thought the pacing was slow too but that were able to stick with it!

      Yes, read Undertow! I highly recommend it! 😀

  4. Wendy @ Book Scents

    Ahh that’s too bad about silver in the blood! To be honest… I wasn’t really that interested in it when I first heard about it but then I saw a lot of people liking it… but then you DNFed so. looks like I got that problem solved! haha.
    Wendy @ Book Scents recently posted…Monthly Recap! June 2015My Profile

  5. Preethi @ Time Turning Reads

    I’ve been super excited about Silver in the Blood since I love the author and the premise sounded interesting, but I have been seeing several not-so-great reviews going around. I’m glad Undertow turned out to be great though! I hadn’t heard too much hype about it but it seems really popular.
    Preethi @ Time Turning Reads recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday (#7)My Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge