ARC Review ~ Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

» 30 June, 2014 » Reviews » 11 comments

ARC Review ~ Perfected by Kate Jarvik BirchPerfected
by Kate Jarvik Birch, perfected, young adult
Published by Entangled Teen
Release date : July 1st, 2014
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Source: The Publisher | Format: eARC
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link) The Book Depository
Add to: Goodreads

Perfection comes at a price.

As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and above all, perfect, these “family companions” enter their masters’ homes prepared to live a life of idle luxury.

Ella is happy with her new role as playmate for a congressman’s bubbly young daughter, but she doesn’t expect Penn, the congressman’s handsome and rebellious son. He’s the only person who sees beyond the perfect exterior to the girl within. Falling for him goes against every rule she knows…and the freedom she finds with him is intoxicating.

But when Ella is kidnapped and thrust into the dark underworld lurking beneath her pampered life, she’s faced with an unthinkable choice. Because the only thing more dangerous than staying with Penn’s family is leaving…and if she’s unsuccessful, she’ll face a fate far worse than death.

For fans of Keira Cass’s Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow

I received this book for free from The Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Perfected was nausea inducing, mind-boggling and disturbing. Although the topic of this book is touchy, I felt the book was really light and didn’t focus on the things it should have. Nor did it really get a huge reaction out of me, overall. That’s a lie, I was disturbed.

I have to say though, this did not feel like a dystopian to me. There are many reasons for this – but I feel it’s because it had a current day in age feel to it, with an added, morbid law allowing people to own humans as pets. I would go into this without any assumptions about a dystopian world, because you will be disappointed if you do.

As I said, the premise is a disturbing one. Teen girls being bred and raised as pets, then sold to the highest bidder. For awhile there, I didn’t understand the WHYs. Why pass the law? Why fund it? Why buy one? Unless you are thinking really really awful thoughts about why men would want perfect, pretty teenage girls, I just don’t see the point in it. A “my size” Barbie? I mean, what? It was explained a little, but that, along with many other things left unsaid, is why I just didn’t LOVE this book.

However, I did feel that Ella was a reliable character. She is very naive, which is something that I would expect out of her. She doesn’t know much about how the “real world” works. Yet, she shouldn’t because all she knows is her training. She is passionate though, and I loved her passion and how she saw beautiful in everything.

I felt like the transition of Penn’s feelings were too abrupt for me. He generally did care for Ella, I know that, but it just felt like their relationship went from 0-60. BUT. I really liked it. I loved that Penn actually talked to Ella, got to know her, and especially loved that they shared a passion for music.

On a side note – set aside the naive thoughts of a 9-year-old girl, the relationship between Ella and Ruby was sweet.

Kate’s writing is easy to read, flowing smoothly from page to page. But it’s light, with no real solid depth to anything. This is one of those things that we need more information on. It isn’t this way just BECAUSE. There is obviously a reason this bill was put into law and passed, so what was it? As such, I felt it was just too light for the subject matter. One thing I will say, her strong suit is the romance.

My Peeve –

There are several things here. For one, I had a sense of deja vu while reading the ending. Want to know why? Just ask. Mainly, the lack of back story behind the law being passed and the lack of depth all around. Which I said. Many times.

Overall –

Although I had my issues with Perfected, I did enjoy it. It’s a light, quick read. If there IS a sequel, I will probably read it.

Recommend –

Ehh. I’m gonna go with yes. Keep in mind, if you are looking for a more in-depth, dystopian novel, I would skip it.

Rating Report
Plot
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Writing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Characters
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Pacing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Romance
One StarOne StarOne Star
Overall: 3.6

Tell me your thoughts –

Have you read Perfected? What did you think? If not, tell me your initial thoughts after reading the blurb.

Follow Me

tonyalee

Tonyalee is an avid reader, coffee junkie, junk food addicted workaholic and blogger. Be sure to follow on Twitter for random shenanigans.
Follow Me

11 responses to “ARC Review ~ Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

  1. Giselle

    “nausea inducing, mind-boggling and disturbing” THAT IS EVERYTHING I LOVE IN A BOOK! Baha! I have been seeing this one around but this is the first review I read of it. It sounds like it’s got a pretty disturbing premise which makes me want to read it for that alone lol. Too bad it wasn’t better developed in terms of backstory and characters/relationships though. Great review, hun!
    Giselle recently posted…Cover Madness Giveaway Hop!My Profile

    • tonyalee

      I love them too! My mind was just reeling throughout this book because of the audacity of it ALL! Had there been more of a back story to it, it would have been epic lol

      Thanks lady 🙂

    • tonyalee

      I like them strange too. It shows there is so much more out there than the normal tropes, ya know? But this one lacked that oomph.

      Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge