ARC Review~ Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

» 24 September, 2013 » Reviews » 10 comments

ARC Review~ Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley CoriellGoodbye, Rebel Blue
by Shelly Coriell
Published by Amulet Books
Release date : October 1st 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: The Publisher | Format: ARC
Purchase at: Amazon (Affiliate Link) AudibleThe Book Depository
Add to: Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself.

Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

I received this book for free from The Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

bannerfans_8883389 (2)


Before I get down into my hopefully coherent review, I must disclose two things. 1.) I had never seen this book and honestly, if it had not shown up on my doorstep, I probably wouldn’t have given it a go. Why? This brings me to disclosure 2.) This isn’t a ME book. So, tickle me surprised when I cracked open this book I was immediately engrossed and eagerly flipping the pages. This book was beautiful, funny and just all out amazing.

Do you believe that choice or chance controls your fate? For Rebel blue, it’s choice. That is, until a girl she has a measly conversation with dies shortly after their strange conversation about life, death and fate. Before her death, Kennedy Green, as well as Rebel, were assigned to create a bucket list. After discovering about her death Rebel scrambles to find Kennedy’s list. When failing, numerous times, to rid herself of it, Rebel makes the choice to complete the list. To prove to herself — and others, that she is good.

First off, Rebel is hilarious. She’s witty and brutally honest. She comes off crass, rude and irresponsible but in reality, she is anything but. Sure, she mouths off. Smokes, and ultimately, earned the name Rebel– but she’s lonely and just trying to find her ground and fit in. I initially thought it was guilt that drove her but really, it wasn’t. I think it was her chance to prove that she isn’t bad. That she can do good. I honestly see a lot myself in her. There were times it was hard for her, since not everyone was very welcome of her change. But others, like Nate and Macey, embraced her change. 

While the story doesn’t revolve around the romance, it plays a huge part in Rebel’s development and growth. Nate challenges her and makes her feel things she never thought she would/could, with the type of do gooder that he is. But there is also more to Nate that Rebel draws out with her honesty. She challenges him too, to see things they way they are and to be honest with himself. To do things he wants to do, not the things he feels obligated to do. Seeing these two develop their relationship was sweet and heart warming. The first love kind of cute.

The writing was outstanding. The pacing was perfect, everything flowed together nicely and even the shortest and smallest interactions with strangers played a huge part. There are a lot of small quotes that run deep. I loved how the chapters started with things that were on Rebel’s bucket list. It starts off as hilarious, fun and just random things she wants to accomplish. But as the list goes on, we see more depth into Rebel’s fears, wants and needs. . The last two really got to me for some reason. And quite honestly, the last page gave me goosebumps. 

Overall~ I loved it. Such a beautiful story. It will make you smile, laugh, have your heart aching and makes you think. Is it fate? Or do you choose your own destiny? I highly recommend this one. 

With my two small disclosures up there; should I call it fate that Goodbye, Rebel Blue landed in my hands, read it and that I loved it? Or choice? Because, even though it was there, I made the decision to read it?

…You decide

Follow Me

tonyalee

Tonyalee is an avid reader, coffee junkie, junk food addicted workaholic and blogger. Be sure to follow on Twitter for random shenanigans.
Follow Me

10 responses to “ARC Review~ Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge